

Transcriptions of Columbia River Treaty Lectures

[Jan - Apr 1974, Simon Fraser University]

Speaker and Date Relevant (Former) Position

#1: Howard C. Green [Jan] Canadian Secretary of State

#2 Alvin Hamilton [1 Feb] Chairman, Columbia River Liaison Committee

#3 Arthur Laing [6 Feb] Minister of Northern Affairs, Senator

#4 Gordon Shrum [20 Feb] President, BC Hydro

#5 Bob Strachan [22 Feb] Leader, New Democratic Party

#6 Neil Swainson [27 Feb] UVic Political Science Professor

#7 Larret Higgins [1 Mar] Technical Advisor

#8 Jim Wilson [8 Mar] Executive Director, BC Hydro

#9 Ian McDougal [13 Mar] Environmental Lawyer

#10 Marion Marts [~15 Mar] US Professor of Environmental Geography

#11 Ray Williston [20 Mar] Minister of Lands, Forests and Water Resources

#12 Charles Bourne [22 Mar] UBC Law Professor

#13 Gordon McNabb [27 Mar] Senior ADM, Energy Mines and Resources

#14 Hugh Keenleyside [3 Apr] Chairman, BC Hydro

Disclaimer: This material was transcribed by BC Hydro from 35 year old cassette tapes that contained highly variable audio quality. While significant effort was expended to render these transcripts as accurate as reasonably practical, many comments, questions and responses were unclear or inaudible. As a result, the enclosed transcripts are not a full disclosure of the Jan – April 1974 lectures. Readers that require the most complete understanding of these lectures are advised to review the originating tapes themselves, and/or the digital conversions which were requested and funded by BC Hydro. The latter can be reviewed in the SFU Archives located at the Burnaby Mountain campus.

If and when significant transcription errors are identified which impact the information conveyed, readers are asked to forward the correction to Doug Robinson at douglas.robinson@bchydro.com, or fax to 604-528-8149.