BC Book Prizes

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

BC Book Prizes

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The BC Book Prizes, including The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, are presented annually at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prize Gala in April.
The awards carry a cash prize of $2000 plus a certificate. The exception is the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, which is a separate prize category. Prizes include: Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize, Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize and the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, and the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places